The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) was officially born on 30 September 1961. Origins date back to 1960, when 18 European countries plus the United States and Canada joined forces to create an organisation dedicated to global development. Today, it has grown to a strong 34 member countries across the globe, from North and South America to Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. They include many of the world’s most advanced countries but also emerging countries like Mexico, Chile and Turkey. We also work closely with emerging giants like China, India and Brazil and developing economies in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. Together, OECD goal continues to be to build a stronger, cleaner, fairer world.

Today, we are focused on helping governments around the world to:

  • Restore confidence in markets and the institutions that make them function.
  • Re-establish healthy public finances as a basis for future sustainable economic growth.
  • Foster and support new sources of growth through innovation, environmentally friendly ‘green growth’ strategies and the development of emerging economies.
  • Ensure that people of all ages can develop the skills to work productively and satisfyingly in the jobs of tomorrow.

Subject Coverage

  • Agriculture and Food
  • Development
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Employment
  • Energy – IEA
  • Environment
  • Finance and Investments
  • Governance
  • Science and Technology
  • Social Issues, Migration and Health
  • Taxation
  • Trade
  • Transport – ITF
  • Urban, Rural and Regional Development
  • Industry and Services
  • Nuclear Energy – NEA

See more :